The Rider

August 24, 2010

My Ride: John Looker

Filed under: My Ride — The Blog @ 6:01 AM

I asked the riders and volunteers I wrote about the past several months to send in a report on their Pelotonia experience. Here’s the first, from John Looker, who has been battling cancer ferociously for more than 15 years – and was determined to be part of this year’s ride despite some recent cancer-related issues. To read more about John, click here.

Here’s John’s report…

Here's John and Bridgette in Amanda at the end of their ride

All I can say about Saturday is I managed to ride 45 miles from CAS to Amanda, not even two weeks after having radiation seeds implanted in my brain. Although a part of me is quite disappointed that I wasn’t able to complete the 102 miles I wanted to, a larger part of me is quite proud that I put 45 miles in. I couldn’t have done it without my co-worker Bridgette Keener.

Sunday, some Continental co-workers and I worked the water station at Hocking Hills/Cantwell Cliffs from 8a-12p. Being able to give those riders completing Day 2 some hydration and pep talks was the other highlight of the weekend for me. We pretty much watered 650 riders in those 4 hours. Mixing Gatorade, filling water bottles, wiping off mud-streaked faces- all worth dragging my sore butt up at 6am to do.

Blog at WordPress.com.