The Rider

August 1, 2010

Odds & Ends: Bridges, Pucks and Tourists

Filed under: Steve's Stuff — The Blog @ 9:23 AM

What with all the hoopla over the new Main Street Bridge, which has been under construction since I moved to Columbus in Sept. 2006 – I had to go and see the newly opened span for myself, and determine how bike friendly it is.

First, my architectural critique: it’s pretty cool (that’s a technical architectural term). From far away, the crooked arch seems high, from up close – as in, on the bridge – it doesn’t seem so high. Is this a trick of perspective, or intentional?

So I pulled up to the bridge late yesterday afternoon on my bike – and it was deserted. Then again, all of Downtown Columbus is deserted on the weekend. I looked for the bridge’s bike lane – and there wasn’t one! But don’t worry, they didn’t forget about us. To the right (or north side) was a wide bike/pedestrian lane, a sort of side bridge to the main bridge. And remember it’s a bike/pedestrian  lane – and not a pedestrian/bike lane as members of the pedestrian lobby would have us believe.

***

Photo courtesy of Columbus Blue Jackets

In Canada they have hockey night – at The Rider we have hockey week, and this is the week. Not one, but two members of the Columbus Blue Jackets rode Pelotonia last year and will be riding again this year.

I had the chance to talk to both and will profile  them this week.

Here’s what one had to say about Pelotonia: “It was unbelievable. There was so much support along the way, so many people on the streets and in their yards with signs. That was very cool and I think it will keep growing every year.”

***

An out-of-town friend is visiting and later today we’re going on a ride – and will do my special Columbus Sightseeing Loop.

Over the years, I have developed a perfect 25-mile loop that includes many of the key sights: Ohio Stadium and the OSU campus; Downtown, including the Capitol; the Arena District; Grandview – including a stop at Jeni’s for some ice cream; and Upper Arlington. If it’s the right time of year, I include the rose gardens at Whetstone.

So far, it has never failed to impress, especially the ice cream.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.